Behind the Scenes

 

Two important steps in the house project have happened:

First, our physical therapist came to walk through the house with building plans in hand. As we know, the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) set up requirements for accessibility. These are the bare minimum measurements as opposed to the best measurements. Our therapist was able to pose questions about mobility and lifting etc. that we hadn’t thought about. She helped us think through the set up of the bathroom so it’s easy for all caregivers to assist Aidan.

 

Second, the plans have been submitted to the town and permits should be approved in the next few days. Then we can pick a date for a big ground breaking event.

 

I want to thank-you for taking the first few steps that you can take. This blog and our story are being shared. People are getting excited and are shining up their hammers for work. (Ok, I don’t think you can really do that but you catch my drift.) Stay ready and keep sharing. It seems like there has been a lot of waiting in this first phase, but I want to encourage you that we are making forward progress. This is all of the official busywork and decision making that needs to happen before the fun begins!

 

Stay tuned.

 

About Heather Bowie

I’m the mother of two wonderful boys and have been married almost 20 years to an amazing Irishman I met in a castle. Our oldest son Liam loves to read and run. Our younger son Aidan loves to drive his power chair and socialize. Aidan has a rare genetic disease (PURA Syndrome) and Epilepsy. This blog was birthed out of the desire to tell our story, and in doing so, appreciate the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Behind the Scenes

  1. Karen says:

    So exciting! Not shining my hammer…..but am practicing my swng! 🙂

  2. Sue schick says:

    Looking forward to bringing my husband’s tools , and my husband, and taking some swings myself! I promise to practice first guys! Or maybe I will join team Liam and keep the lattes comin!! Exciting stuff!

Leave a Reply

