In the Name of Research

Image 1

This is me (Heather) doing serious scientific research. I needed to pick out a shower head for Aidan’s bathroom. There were just so many choices but I found one I thought would be best. I had almost made my final decision when I began to wonder if it would be too heavy for Aidan. Poor kid could get this super duper accessible bathroom only to be left with a shower head that he can’t use.

So clearly I needed to hold it and consider Aidan’s strength and muscle control. What you can’t see in this picture is that I had to climb up on a shelf to reach it. This serious scientific research is risky stuff, but a mom’s gotta do what a mom’s gotta do.

Five more seconds and that shower head would have become my microphone, but no, I saw a sales clerk approaching.  I thought, gosh this would make an interesting story to be kicked out of a store at XX years of age after being a rule follower for most of my life. I was getting my in the name of serious scientific research apology ready when the sales clerk asked…

“Can I get you a towel?”

About Heather Bowie

I’m the mother of two wonderful boys and have been married almost 20 years to an amazing Irishman I met in a castle. Our oldest son Liam loves to read and run. Our younger son Aidan loves to drive his power chair and socialize. Aidan has a rare genetic disease (PURA Syndrome) and Epilepsy. This blog was birthed out of the desire to tell our story, and in doing so, appreciate the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

