Winter to Spring

This week was a transition of the seasons here in New England. We began work last weekend in frigid temperatures, not that it stopped anyone.

IMG_5463 IMG_5473

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our family friends came up from Connecticut to pitch in. Al did quite a bit of painting the details that just need to get done. Merry cooked for the crew. In the evening, they both regaled my children of my love of Charlotte’s Web and riding my bike to their house just to visit. They also noted that I was raised in a house that was constantly under construction. It was a beautiful house built in the 1700s. Turns out Merry and Al had looked into buying it and realized it was too big of a project. They waited to see who would be crazy enough to take that on.  So yes, I guess I come from a little bit of crazy.  I didn’t realize until this re-telling that of course I would have to write on the walls and floors during this current construction project; I grew up writing on the sheetrock of my bedroom wall which was an open canvass for years. I remember when my room and my sister’s room was separated only by framing. What a grand adventure. 

IMG_5460 IMG_5464 IMG_5468

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This weekend has been full of sunshine and hard work. Jason the Builder and his wife Holly came to pitch in. Fortunately, Holly is a cut-in painter. The mudroom is done. Even though I am strictly forbidden to paint, I painted the bead board and I must say and did a dang good job.

IMG_5480

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pop came up and cleaned up Garreth’s garden. This space is very much his sanctuary. Along with being forbidden to paint, I’m also sort of banned from the garden. I can, of course, supervise which consists mostly of sitting in a chair, drinking a beer and saying “good job.” However, with painting success under my belt, I may just be allowed to plant a few seeds as well. We’d miss our fresh veggies too much this summer if we skipped this. The blue flags mark off our neighbors water pipes and made this project go from an addition on the back of the house to the front. Not too long ago they were buried in snow.

IMG_5484 IMG_5483

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pop also supervised Liam in taking down the swing set. Good grief, that was a job. Liam had to think of approximately 87 ways he could get that done all by himself. In the end, he learned how to use a saw zaw, or something sharp and dangerous. It was quite an accomplishment. Today he ended up having to think through taking down the temporary ramp that Aidan used this summer. It’s been a lesson in family dynamics to say the least.

 

IMG_5477 IMG_5478 IMG_5491

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Garreth is working on his BBQ deck and the stairs. Scott the Tile Guy is back preparing the space for our pellet stove. It’s going to be beautiful.

IMG_5492 IMG_5490 IMG_5488

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Garreth is working on finishing touches almost every evening. If you would like to join him, please drop us an email at bowiehouse2622@gmail.com

 

Thanks!

About Heather Bowie

I’m the mother of two wonderful boys and have been married almost 20 years to an amazing Irishman I met in a castle. Our oldest son Liam loves to read and run. Our younger son Aidan loves to drive his power chair and socialize. Aidan has a rare genetic disease (PURA Syndrome) and Epilepsy. This blog was birthed out of the desire to tell our story, and in doing so, appreciate the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter to Spring

  1. Merry and Al says:

    We miss you guys a lot! We continue to be surprised by the speed in which things are accomplished. You are truly blessed and I know you know that! We had a ball helping. Of course, my job was so easy. I can attest to Heather’s skills in painting–she did a super job!!!! Supporting my girl!!! Lots of love from the Konesni’s

Leave a Reply

